Thursday, July 30, 2009

Jo Coupe, Jennifer Douglas, Ant Macari, and Matt Stokes: nominated for Northern Art Prize Long List 2009

Northern Art Prize 2009

Selectors | Nominations



The selectors for 2009 are Patricia Bickers (Editor, Art Monthly), Richard Deacon (Artist), Paul Hobson (Director, Contemporary Art Society), Peter Murray (Director, Yorkshire Sculpture Park) and Tanja Pirsig-Marshall (Curator of Exhibitions, Leeds Art Gallery).

Back to top



The longlisted artists for 2009 are:

Farhad Ahrarnia, Andy Black, Pavel Bϋchler, Halima Cassell, J. Chuhan, Jo Coupe, Nick Crowe and Ian Rawlinson, Graham Dolphin, Jennifer Douglas, Jorn Ebner, Rachel Goodyear, Sally Greaves-Lord, Lubaina Himid, Simon Le Ruez, Bob Levene, Ant Macari, Haroon Mirza, Jane Poulton and Lin Holland, Emma Rushton and Derek Tyman, Bryndis Snæbjörnsdóttir and Mark Wilson, Linder Sterling, Matt Stokes and Richard William Wheater.

The nominators for 2009 are:

North East
Julia Bell, Freelance Independent Curator and Visual Arts Consultant; James Lowther, Curator, DLI Museum and Durham Art Gallery;Helen Ratcliffe and Alan Smith, Directors, Allenheads Contemporary Art, Northumberland; Paul Stone and Christopher Yeats, Directors, Vane.

North West
John Angus, Director, Storey Gallery, Lancaster;Maria Balshaw, Director, Whitworth Art Gallery, Manchester; Ann Bukantas, Curator of Fine Art, Walker Art Gallery, Liverpool; Fareda Khan, Deputy Director, Shisha, Manchester.

Stuart Cameron, Director, Crescent Arts; Lara Goodband, Independent Curator; Nicola Stephenson, Director, The Culture Company; Liz Whitehouse, Director, The Art House, Wakefield